RTS Young Technologist Award for 2022

July 13th, 2022

Timeline’s Jonathan Chappell-Seetayah wins the RTS Young Technologist Award for 2022

For the first time, the RTS has named two winners for the RTS Young Technologist Award for 2022.

Jahreal Wright, User Support Specialist at Sky, and Jonathan Chappell-Seetayah, IP Broadcast Project Engineer at Timeline TV, were both chosen to receive the coveted award by a panel of expert industry judges, which was chaired by Digital Media Consultant Terry Marsh.

Presented in memory of A.M Beresford-Cooke, the winners were announced at an event hosted by Muki Kulhan on Tuesday 12 July.

Dock10’s Andrew Ware was announced as runner-up and recipient of the Coffey Award for Excellence in Technology.

Jonathan Chappell-Seetayah started his career at the BBC on its broadcast engineering degree apprenticeship, leading to his first role in BBC Major Projects implementing IP technology. Chappell-Seetayah then joined Timeline TV, facilitating BT Sport’s move to IP broadcasting through systems architecture, training tier-one engineers in IP and providing third-line support. The RTS Young Technologist of the Year jury was impressed by Chappell-Seetayah’s drive to make production better and the importance of being part of this change and turning point within the industry.

Left to right: Rob Houghton, who collected the award on behalf of Jonathan Chappell-Seetayah, Jahreal Wright, Andrew Ware) Image courtesy RTS/Paul Hampartsoumian

Both winners of the RTS Young Technologist of the Year Award will receive an all-expenses paid trip to IBC 2022 in addition to an invitation to the RTS London Convention 2022.

Ahead of the awards presentation, a keynote speaker and panel discussion was held at the event focusing on the key technologies and skills for the future of the industry including remote production, image robotics and live broadcasts. Chaired by Muki Kulhan, Innovation Co-Lead, IBC, the panel included: Claire Wilkie, Founder and Managing Director, Limitless Broadcast; Florian Gallier, Product Manager, Remote Production & Image Robotics, Mo-Sys Engineering Ltd and Krystel Richards, Broadcast IT Engineer, CNN, Chair of WISE Young Professionals’ Board.

Chair of the RTS Young Technologist of the Year Award Jury, Terry Marsh, said: “Every year the standard of applications we receive continues to impress us, so much so that this year we took the decision to award two talented individuals with the RTS Young Technologist of the Year Award. Both Jahreal and Jonathan demonstrated to the jury not only the dynamic experience they have garnered so far in their careers, but the drive to move the industry and technology forwards and to be an integral part of the UK production community for years to come. Congratulations to Jahreal and Jonathan, and also to Andrew for receiving the Coffey Award.”

The Young Technologist Award was established by the RTS with funds received from the family of A.M. Beresford-Cooke – a distinguished engineer who significantly contributed to the development of British broadcasting technology through his work on towers and masts for VHF and UHF transmission. The aim of the award is to advance education in the science, practice, technology and art of television and its allied fields.

Link to the full press release here.